The Curious Case of Benjamin’s Sazerac

benjaminbutton1

Have you seen it yet? Of course I speak of the wonderful love story, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. I was so excited when I saw a Sazerac being ordered. Brad Pitt (Benjamin Button) and Jason Flemyng (Benjamin’s biological father) each drink three of them. The portion size looks pretty hefty too, so there’s good reason for Benjamin stumbling up the stairs.

buttonglass

What style glass is this?

The glasses used in the ornate New Orleans French Quarter bar set are simply beautiful. I love this glass! I think I’ve seen them used for absinthe. There’s also a scene with with Brad Pitt and Tilda Swinton (or was it Cate Blanchett?) walking outside while it’s snowing with a bottle of Champagne in hand holding coupe-style Champagne glasses. Whoa! They are too large for the time period (looks like 10-12 oz glasses), but at least the props gal/guy nailed the shape.

I wonder if one could nail a bar & cocktail prop consulting position for film?

Other alcohol mentioned and seen in the film is vodka. In the photo below Brad Pitt and Tilda Swinton drink it neat with caviar, Later in the film he drinks it with Cate Blanchett with caviar as well, but this time it’s chilled.

benjaminbutton2

Well, to wrap it up I’ll include a YouTube video of New Orleans Master Mixologist, Chris McMillian making a Sazerac.

6 Comments

Filed under Cocktails in Film & Other Media, Recipes

6 responses to “The Curious Case of Benjamin’s Sazerac

  1. I haven’t seen the film as yet, but I’m looking forward to it. I’m glad to see rye getting more exposure these days. I’d drink almost any rye over the best bourbon (which I find a bit too sweet). Sazerac rye is good, but my favorite is Templeton (reportedly Al Capone’s whiskey of choice). Rittenhouse is a good, inexpensive alternative.

  2. I just saw the movie this past Friday with my teen sons (who couldn’t believe I took them to a love story…) Anyway, my ears perked right up when his dad ordered Sazerac for the both of them, and it did look like a hefty pour.

    Happy New Year!

  3. Pingback: Pages tagged "sazerac"

  4. I want to say – thank you for this!

  5. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

  6. Great site. Keep doing

Leave a Reply

